Newborn Photographer Quick Tip {Little Hand} LinnyJo Photography Weatherford Tx

Hi! I wanted to share a quick tip to help you during your newborn session. Newborn sessions are a bit stressful when you’re still in the early stages of learning. This is just a little tip that can take a photo to “ok” to “I got it!” and it’s super easy.

What’s funny about the photos I’m going to use is that this isn’t a newborn, he’s actually 3 months old but the pose is a newborn pose so it still works.

online_LJP0852Here I’ve placed him on my newborn poser bag and have slightly padded under his head. I was so fearful of waking him….he had just fallen asleep and I desperately wanted this shot…so I did minimal movements with him.

I kept his diaper on and tried to tuck his knees and cross his ankles but this was as far as they would go with all the bulk. You can still see plenty of back creases so I was happy with it.

The tip is about his little fist in front of his mouth. This was a strong characteristic of little man…hand in the fist…hand in mouth. So I told mom I would take a safe shot and then try to move it. Taking a safe shot is good advice, too. If there’s just one or two little things that you want to change, wait. Take a safe shot, then make those final adjustments. That way if the baby startles while making those movements and wakes up, cries, doesn’t fall back asleep at least you’ve got that safe shot.

online_LJP0857All I’ve done here is move his little hand up under his cheek. From doing just this one little change you can now see his full face.

blogHere’s a good close up of the difference. Now mind you I didn’t quickly pick up his head and cram the hand under. It’s takes a few minutes and several slow precise steps, but be patient you’ll get there!!blog newborn handNow here’s an example from a past newborn session. I had to dig through the archives to find a good one. See what a difference it makes?!

//Tech specs (for top set of photos):

Camera Body – D600
Lens – 50 1.4mm
Focal Length – 3.5
ISO – 125
Shutter – 1/200
Alien Bees Flash used.

I hope this helps you!!

Leave a Reply

